Adjunct instructors honored for teaching excellence

May 3, 2019

Leona Long

Recognizing their excellence in teaching, eight adjunct instructors were awarded  Regents’ Adjunct Awards. The Award is a new honor that was established as part of the United Academic-Adjuncts collective bargaining agreement. Adjunct faculty members are nominated for the award by the students and peers of their home campus. A selection committee evaluates the nominations and a recommendation is made by their Provost. One faculty member per semester may be selected to receive the University of Alaska Regents’ Adjunct Faculty award and receives a lump-sum of $1,500.


“Our team of adjunct professors are essential to the University of Alaska,” said  Dr. Paul W. Layer, Vice President for Academics, Students & Research. “Adjunct professors are experts in their field who teach a class because they want to share their passion and expertise with students. The Regents Adjunct Award is one way that the University of Alaska shows its appreciation for the role of our adjunct professors in our mission to inspire learning.”


University of Alaska Regents’ Adjunct Faculty Award winners are:


University of Alaska Anchorage:

Jennifer McClung (spring 2018)

Gerald Smith (fall 2018)


University of Alaska Fairbanks:

Mary Ann Carey (fall 2017)

Ning Samson (spring 2018)

Patty Rich (fall 2018)


University of Alaska Southeast:

Sherry Hassel (fall 2017)

Pat Belec (spring 2018)

Melissa Cruise (fall 2018)